I want to go home

It has been a long weekend. An exciting one, but very long. Here I am complaining, but I got to go to Ireland this week! It is as beautiful as you imagine! We were in Dublin for the time we were there, but it was so wonderful to experience a new location. We had a pretty low key time; toured a famous college started in the 1500s, went to a wax museum, walked 7.9 miles around a city we had no idea how to navigate. All very exciting stuff.

But at the end of the day, when the lights were turning on, but the sun was setting I was uneasy. Drunk men everywhere. All of the avenues I had liked during the day turned into fear at night. It made me uncomfortable to hear men catcalling women, made me fearful for my group of 3 females walking around a city we didn’t know. At the end of the day I was ready to go home. Home to London.

This city, this flat is home. I know that at the end of an exhausting trip/day I can come home to my unmade bed and take a nap. I know that I can come back from a boring class and take a nap. Mostly I know I can take a nap, but still I love this place. This city feels like home. I’m already dreading going back to Texas and saying goodbye.

Leave a comment